top of page

Confronting Far-Right Extremism: Perspectives from the United States and Europe



SAVE THE DATE

Event organized by MIRR Alliance


We are at a dangerous moment in history. Far-right extremists from Europe to the United States are drawing on race, ethnicity, and religion to construct the idea of a dangerous and unwanted “other.” A mounting wave of xenophobia, Islamophobia, and nativism continues to influence social attitudes and mainstream political discourse.

Join us on January 24 for an in-depth discussion with renowned activists Linda Sarsour and Yasser Louati to discuss the fast-growing and alarming upsurge in far-right extremism—and how to combat it.

Tuesday, January 24 at 1 p.m. ET (12 p.m. CT / 11 a.m. MT / 10 a.m. PT / 7 p.m. Paris) Reserve your spot by filling out the form to the right.

Speaker Bios:

Linda Sarsour is an award-winning racial justice and civil rights activist, seasoned community organizer, direct action strategist, and mother of three. Ambitious, outspoken and independent, Linda shatters stereotypes of Muslim women while also treasuring her religious and ethnic heritage. She is a Palestinian Muslim American and a self-proclaimed “pure New Yorker, born and raised in Brooklyn!” She is the co-founder of the first Muslim online organizing platform, MPower Change and co-founder of Until Freedom, an intersectional racial justice organization focused on direct action and power building in communities of color. Until Freedom is best known for their work on the Breonna Taylor police murder case in Louisville, Kentucky.

Linda was one of the national co-chairs of the largest single day protest in US history, the Women’s March on Washington. She has been named amongst 500 of the most influential Muslims in the world. She was recognized as one of Fortune’s 50 Greatest Leaders and featured as one of Time Magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world. Linda was the youngest woman and first Muslim woman to receive the Margaret Brent Medal at St. Mary’s College. She has been honored by dozens of local and national entities including the New York Women’s Foundation, Jews for Racial and Economic Justice, The New York City Council, President Barack Obama, Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, The Black Institute, NAACP New York Conference, and the Ms. Foundation. Linda is the author of, “We Are Not Here to Be Bystanders: A Memoir of Love & Resistance” published by Simon & Schuster and awaiting the release of her next book, “We’re In This Together” aimed at young teens. She is most recognized for her transformative intersectional organizing work and movement building.


5 vues0 commentaire
bottom of page